Legumes a Migraine Trigger

Legume_1In response to Trigger-Happy, Christina pointed out that she saw a pattern in my triggers. Peanuts aren’t actually nuts, they are legumes. Beans are also legumes, so it may follow that legumes are the culprit.

Epicurious defines legumes as:

Any of thousands of plant species that have seed pods that split along both sides when ripe. Some of the more common legumes used for human consumption are beans, lentils, peanuts, peas and soybeans. Others, such as clover and alfalfa, are used as animal fodder. When the seeds of a legume are dried, they’re referred to as pulses. The high-protein legumes are a staple throughout the world. They contain some vitamin B, carbohydrates, fats and minerals.

Many common foods are categorized as legumes. The links provide lists of the foods included in each of the subcategories. Some foods that I never think of as legumes include green beans (they’re a green vegetable, not a bean!), split peas and miso.

I am, of course, reluctant to test different legumes to see if they are triggers. Not only because I don’t want to have a migraine, I don’t want to learn that I have to stop eating them. And because I’m still working on housewifing and Hart’s picky about fruits and vegetables. It figures that two vegetables that he actually likes would trigger my headaches.

*sigh*

2 Responses to “Legumes a Migraine Trigger”

  1. Christina P Says:

    This is where keeping a headache diary with food triggers recorded can really become useful–it can reveal patterns you might not otherwise have noticed.

    Legumes are not always listed in headache trigger lists or in migraine texts. The first time I read about it? Dear Abby! 🙂

    ********
    Thanks for making me laugh out loud. What would we do without Dear Abby?

    K

  2. Diana Says:

    This is such a good point. I’ve seen legumes listed various places as a possible trigger, but I guess I’d never thought much about what is included in the category. The only one I know for sure causes me problems is soybeans, but I’ll have to look out for others.

    ********
    Thanks! It’s been super helpful for me too. Unfortunately I’ve been too scared to eat beans since then, so I can’t actually test them.

    K


Leave a Reply

