Headaches, Hormones & Breastfeeding: Purely Anecdotal But Interesting

I saw a new OB/GYN last week (and loved her). Not surprisingly, we talked about headaches and hormones. Turns out she has frequent headaches too, which she thinks are hormonal.

When I asked how they were when she was pregnant, she said that they were better during her pregnancy and while she was breastfeeding. When her milk production slowed down and she began to wean her son, she had a two-week long headache. During this time, of course, her hormone levels were changing. She also said that her friend had the same experience. This is anecdotal of course, but it’s food for thought.

I don’t have any firsthand knowledge of what hormonal headaches are about (I flirted with the idea that mine are menstrual, but am sure they aren’t), but some resources include American Council for Headache Education, the National Headache Foundation and the National Women’s Health Information Center. I found this last resource to be most helpful.

Posted in Coping. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Headaches, Hormones & Breastfeeding: Purely Anecdotal But Interesting”

  1. Jackie Says:

    My doctor told me that for a Chronic Daily Headache / migraine sufferer, being pregnant is the best time of your life! lol,

    She said that the first three months would be hell, but then the last two trimestors, and when breast feeding, you would be headache free!

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed that she’s right!!

  2. Angel Says:

    I didn’t develop CDH until after I weaned my son (long long after) but WOW the mood swings LOL. I don’t notice that my headaches are connected at all with my cycle (and I’ve been keeping track).

    I hate to say this, but…..Any doc that assures a patient that pregnancy will fix anything (let alone CDH/migraines) or that pregnancy will be pain free is a nut. I honestly could not imagine being pregnant with this (which is a moot point since we are done).

  3. Dottie Says:

    I never had a migraine in my life until I had my third child, I have one a month and I am breastfeeding? Any advice?


Leave a Reply

